Pembrey & Burry Port Logo

Town Council

Town Council

The Town Council consists of up to 18 Councillors elected by the voters of Pembrey and Burry Port every 5 years.

Currently the Council is made up of;

  • 8 independent members
  • 6 Labour members
  • 2 Plaid Cymru members

 The Council meets on the third Wednesday of every month (except for August) at 7pm and may meet more regularly if there is a need to do so.  All members may attend and the Council meeting is Chaired by the Mayor, or the Deputy Mayor in his/her absence. 

The Town Council has overall responsibility for the policies, strategies and major decisions taken to meet the role and duties of the Council.  It establishes Standing Committees at each annual meeting and delegates power to them to deal with specific areas of work.